Your Life

Your Life

Major life milestones often have a major tax impact. Changes in your marital status, having a baby or adopting a child can have significant impact on your taxes. This is the place to ask questions about dependents, real estate, and other various scenarios that play a significant role in what taxes you pay.

Pioneer

File together or separately

I am a teacher that makes around 50k my husband is a self employed artist that sells prints online to the tune of 3-6k a year. Last year when we married we filed separately. This year I would like to file together if possible but I'm not sure how that would effect us. I usually get a return of 1000-1500 dollars, and he always has to pay the taxes on his sales. What would be best for us? 

Highlighted
Tax Pro

Re: File together or separately

Hi MissKatieDi,

Welcome to the H&R Block community.

I would actually consider amending your return from last year into a joint return.  You are actually taxed at a higher rate when you file separately and that's just for starters.  There are lots of credits that you become ineligible for automatically when you file separately and there are many benefits that are limited or eliminated.  For example, with an income of $50,000 and a filing status of MFS you lose the ability to contribute to a Roth IRA altogether, and if one of you itemizes deductions then the other must also deduct on Schedule A rather than take the standard deduction even if their deductions are equal to zero.