DIY Products

DIY Products

Whether you’re an experienced do-it-yourselfer or doing your own taxes for the first time, this is your place to learn and share. Here you’ll find information and resources for using H&R Block’s online and software DIY solutions. You’ll also find links to more information to assist you on your DIY journey.

Reply
Pioneer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-09-2018

Your activation code is invalid?

I just bought Fed and State. I literally copied the activation code from the very web page that appaared after I bought it. And I get a message that says "the activation code you entered is invalid". I also never got an email after I bought it and yes everything is filled out correctly. Someone better fix this or give me a refund because there are plenty of other tax prep software's out there. 

 

 

Associate (Pioneer)
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎04-13-2017

Re: Your activation code is invalid?

The activation code is 8 digits in length. If the code you are using is 8 digits in length, try manually typing it in as sometimes using copy/paste will give an error. 

- Matthew
Business Analyst, Kansas City, MO
Pioneer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-10-2018

Re: Your activation code is invalid?

I'm experiencing the exact same issue.  I purchased the program, but  never received an email.  Nothing went wrong and I received no error messages during the checkout process.  Despite not getting an email after checking out, the registration code was listed on the web page after I completed my purchase. So I typed that in to the software, and am informed that my activation code is invalid.

 

How can this issue be resolved?

Highlighted
Associate (Pioneer)
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎04-13-2017

Re: Your activation code is invalid?

We will need to determine what the issue is and possibly provide you a new activation code. Please give us a call a 1-800-HRBLOCK so we can better assist you.

- Matthew
Business Analyst, Kansas City, MO
Pioneer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-28-2018

Re: Your activation code is invalid?

I had the same problem, then figured out it was because the activation code field wants only the 8 characters, not the dash (even though the help next to the field includes the dash).

 

This is really a basic usability bug, it should be a priority fix for your software engineering team. Ideally, the field should work with or without dash, or it should be two separate fields of 4 characters each with the dash showing between them.

Associate (Pioneer)
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎01-19-2018

Re: Your activation code is invalid?

Good Afternoon Everyone.

 

We're sorry that you're having isssues. Manually entering in the key code is better as it was stated, copying and pasting the code it most likely to give the error. If you got your issue resolved, we are glad to hear that. If you are needing further assistance, please let us know and we'll be glad to help. 

 

Thanks

Ashley 

Social Media / Senior Support Specialist
Pioneer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-17-2017

Re: Your activation code is invalid?

Having basically same problem.  I am TRYING to install it on the desktop computer - I have already paid for the program - and when I put in the ACTIVATION COUPON CODE (XXXX-XXX), the reply is that I have already used that number (which is true because of a prior purchase).  I have tried putting in variations of the number but to no avail.  

 

Bottom line is that I don't see any place where  I am supposed to put in the information - other than making a new purchase.  Also - by the time - after many hours of holding on the telephone, the office was FINALLY CLOSED.  

 

Concerning the laptop:  when I installed the program the first time, it imported only the info page - and it wouldn't import last year's tax file even after installing the program again.  

 

I think I may have a "defunct" disc and thought I would install it on the desktop to see if it worked or not??

Pioneer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-12-2018

Re: Your activation code is invalid?

Awesome! That solved my problem. 

Thank you.

Pioneer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-24-2018

Re: Your activation code is invalid?

I am getting so very frustrated --- after completing the entire tax preparation process (both federal and state) I am experiencing significant barriers with submitting the e-file; I am repeatedly being told that my activation code is invalid.  I have called the toll free number for support but am only receiving a digital customer service representative --- this 'individual' has given me three new activation codes, all which i've tried in all variations (upper case, lower case, hypen, no hyphen)---- still no luck. 

YJ
Pioneer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-31-2018

Re: Your activation code is invalid?

I agree, especially when it was auto-populated at first!