All Things Tax

All Things Tax

Like the title says, from the filing process and tax questions to tax policy and reform, you can search and share All Things Tax here. This is the place to find answers to all your general questions that don't fall under the other categories. And just a reminder: questions about software or online filing should be posted in DIY Products.

Valued Pioneer
Accepted Solution

Self Employment Question - Do I have to pay for Quarterly Taxes

[ Edited ]

Hello,

In 2017 I started freelancing part time, but didn't really make that much money from it. I didn't pay my SE taxes quarterly that year, so I paid what I felt like I owed through my annual return (federal) just this past January (I only owed a couple hundred dollars). I believed I didn't have to pay federal and state income taxes because I didn't make enough to pay. I am a student and I am very new to this.

This year, I am freelancing full-time (started a little after I filed my federal return) and have made more money this quarter than I did through the entire 2017 year. I also believe I will have a livable income throughout 2018 - 2019 based on my job contract and possible side jobs.