All Things Tax

All Things Tax

Like the title says, from the filing process and tax questions to tax policy and reform, you can search and share All Things Tax here. This is the place to find answers to all your general questions that don't fall under the other categories. And just a reminder: questions about software or online filing should be posted in DIY Products.

Financial Aid and Taxes

I was a full time student in 2017 and did not work. I have 2 dependents. I do not plan to claim them on my taxes this year, as I did not have employment and did not pay anything in. My question is, if I allow their father to claim them (via IRS Form 8332), how does that affect me? Will I be disqualified for certain types of financial aid, if I allow my children to be claimed on the non-custodial parent's taxes?

Tax Pro

Re: Financial Aid and Taxes

Hi ammata,

Welcome to the H&R Block community.

Your financial aid is based on YOUR income.  The only things that might affect it is if (1) you were married & filing jointly since your joint income might be higher with your spouse's income taken into account, and (2) if you are claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer since their income would be taken into account.  Note that the second one doesn't really affect many people because you have an option on the FAFSA to exclude your parents' information, but also note that some schools insist on having it.

Allowing your dependents' father to claim them in your situation is not going to affect your financial aid at all because you're obviously not filing with him, no longer married to him, or both.  Therefore, only your own income will be taken into account.  Your income is zero from the information you've provided so you'll be eligible for a good amount of financial aid benefits.