All Things Tax

All Things Tax

Like the title says, from the filing process and tax questions to tax policy and reform, you can search and share All Things Tax here. This is the place to find answers to all your general questions that don't fall under the other categories. And just a reminder: questions about software or online filing should be posted in DIY Products.

Pioneer

Filing Form SS-8

Hi,

I have been working at my job for a few months and still believe i should be classified as a part time employee instead of an independent contractor (working on premise, regulated work, hours, pay). They are planning on sending me a 1099. Should I file form SS-8 before or after I file my tax return (due April 2018 for year 2017)?

If i file form SS-8 before filing my taxes and the IRS makes a determination in my favor, will the company then send me a W2?

Or do I have to file my 2017 return with the 1099 and then amend my return after?

Any info would be helpful!

Tax Pro

Re: Filing Form SS-8

Hi workerbeeworker,

Welcome to the H&R Block community.

For 2017, you will need to file your tax return with whichever form you are issued.  Your employer cannot go back and withhold taxes from checks that have already been written, so it won't really make much difference at this point.  The IRS also takes quite a while to investigate things, and it could be after the due date for your tax return by the time you hear back from them.  If you are determined to be an employee then you should be issued a W-2 for your 2018 tax return that you'll file in 2019.