All Things Tax

All Things Tax

Like the title says, from the filing process and tax questions to tax policy and reform, you can search and share All Things Tax here. This is the place to find answers to all your general questions that don't fall under the other categories. And just a reminder: questions about software or online filing should be posted in DIY Products.

ytc
Pioneer

Amending 2016 & 2015 returns due to H&R Block's mistakes?

[ Edited ]

I have been using H&R Block online tax filing service since 2014, All my filings were itemized. 

This year, I found out about a deduction that I qualify but H&R Block's online filing service has never ever bother asking me: the local sales tax deduction. I was quite upset because the only reason I found out about this additional deduction was through TurboTax.

My questions are: 

1. How do I file a 1040x amendment with H&R Block for 2016 & 2015? I can only find information on amendment through H&R Block's software but nothing about its online service.
  2. Would H&R block honor its accuracy & maximum return guarantee? Sure, it was "me" who did not enter the sales tax information but the reason that I never entered was that H&R Block's online service never asked. We are talking about roughly an additional $400 return each year!

Re: Amending 2016 & 2015 returns due to H&R Block's mistakes?

Welcome to the Community. You can reach H&R Block client support at 1-800-472-5625. They will be able to access your account online and assist you.

Harold

Associate (Neighbor)

[ Edited ]

Hello, ytc, and welcome to the community.

Deducting sales tax is an option on the Schedule A (itemized deductions), but unless you live in a state which doesn't have an income tax, it is very rarely used.